• Enter your email address to follow 'History Notes' and receive an email when there's a new post.

    Join 663 other followers


  • Copies of A Brief History of Nether Providence are on sale at Furness Library and the Nether Providence Township Building.
  • Categories

  • Idea for an Article? Query about NP History?

    Send an email to
    info@nphistory.org.

Living History Program @HKF

EarlyIrishImmigrants“The New American,” a Living Voices program, combines dynamic solo performance with archival film to turn history into a moving personal journey.

The show stars Wallingford’s Gabrielle Miller as Bridget Rose Fitzgerald. Set in 1910, her immigrant journey from Ireland includes steamship passage through Ellis Island to lower Manhattan and the sweatshop known as the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory. “The New American” reveals a timeless immigrant experience and the meaning of liberty and opportunity.

The performance is suitable for students in fourth grade through adults, and is made possible by a generous donation from the Rose Valley Borough Council and staff in honor of Lynn Kelley, a former council member and current volunteer at the library.

2 p.m., Sunday, March 8th in the Library’s Chadwick Auditorium.
The program is free and open to the public, but registration is recommended. Call 610-566-9331.

Historic Views of Nether Providence & Rose Valley

Historic ViewsKeith Lockhart, publisher of the invaluable local history resource delawarecountyhistory.com, has written and given presentations on the history of our county for many years. Keith’s extensive personal collection includes rare publications and hundreds of photographs, many of which he’ll share with us in a presentation on Sunday, March 10th at 2:00 at The Helen Kate Furness Free Library, 100 North Providence Road in Wallingford.
Join us! The program is free and open to the public.

A History Old Union United Methodist Church

Old Union ChurchNether Providence Historical Society & Rose Valley Museum and Historical Society present

A History of Old Union United Methodist Church

Methodism, founded in England by John Wesley, arrived in America in 1771 with circuit riders who travelled from town to town, preaching in the open air. Methodist services in Nether Providence began with camp meetings at Hinkson’s Corner as early as 1804. Chartered in 1811, the Church as we see it today was constructed in 1835 when the original 1813 building was replaced. The cemetery predates the first structure. Soldiers of every war since the Revolution are buried there.

Join us in commemorating the long, rich heritage of Old Union as the Church turns the page on a new chapter in its history. Pastor Lori Wagner will talk about the history of Old Union and its cemetery. The Church will hold its last service on Sunday, June 17th.

Sunday, June 10th at 2 pm at Old Union Church

152 West Rose Valley Road, Wallingford

The program is free and open to the public.